Ray McCallum Edges Ryan Broekhoff For Horizon Player of the Year


Trying to decide who the player of the year in the Horizon League was for 2012-13 could depend on a coin flip any day of the season.

This is going to require some numbers crunching because it is close, really close. I have a hard time given the way the wind is blowing deciding who might be the player of the year in the Horizon League.

That is after declaring for certain that I thought Ryan Broekhoff was the Player of the Year entering the season, and that Ray McCallum was only No. 5 in the league. Yeah, that might have been a little off.

Not that No. 5 is anything to sneeze at. It is still one of the top five players in the conference. It just isn't No. 1. But after watching McCallum and Detroit numerous times this season, it is clear that Ray has at least a claim to the No. 1 spot.

Again it varies based on the game, but it is hard to choose.

Apparently that was true for those that actually vote in these kinds of things. McCallum edged the Valpo star for the player of the year honors in the conference when it was all tallied. The two are joined on the first team All-Conference squad by Detroit's Nick Minnerath, Green Bay's Keifer Sykes, and Youngstown State's Kendrick Perry. That is a list that is hard to quibble with.

Here are all the 2013 Horizon League postseason awards:

Player of the Year: Ray McCallum, Detroit

Newcomer of the Year: Bryn Forbes, Cleveland State

Defensive Player of the Year: Damian Eargle, Youngstown State

Sixth Man of the Year: LaVonte Dority, Valparaiso

Coach of the Year: Billy Donlon, Wright State

First Team All-Horizon League
Ray McCallum, Detroit
Ryan Broekhoff, Valparaiso
Nick Minnerath, Detroit
Kendrick Perry, Youngstown State
Keifer Sykes, Green Bay

Second Team All-Horizon League
Alec Brown, Green Bay
Kevin Van Wijk, Valparaiso
Ben Averkamp, Loyola
Gary Talton, UIC
Cole Darling, Wright State

All-Newcomer Team
Bryn Forbes, Cleveland State
Jordan Fouse, Green Bay
Jordan Aaron, Milwaukee
Kamren Belin, Youngstown State
Josh Crittle, UIC

All-Defensive Team
Damian Eargle, Youngstown State
Erik Buggs, Valparaiso
Kendrick Perry, Youngstown State
Alec Brown, Green Bay
Jordan Fouse, Green Bay

SB Nation Featured Video
Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join Mid-Major Madness

You must be a member of Mid-Major Madness to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Mid-Major Madness. You should read them.

Join Mid-Major Madness

You must be a member of Mid-Major Madness to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Mid-Major Madness. You should read them.




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.