clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Mid-Major TV Fix: Colonial Releases Schedule on NBCSN

NBC Sports Network, the network formerly known as Versus, will be broadcasting 18 select games throughout the season, including the CAA tournament semifinals and championship.

Howard Smith-US PRESSWIRE - Presswire

NBC Sports Network announced today that they will be nationally broadcasting 18 Colonial Athletic Association games throughout the 2012-2013 CAA season, starting Saturday, December 8, with Missouri Valley contender Northern Iowa at George Mason at 7:00 PM.

NBCSN clearly did their homework on the conference in finding attractive matchups. Fourteen out of the 15 regular season games to be broadcast feature either Drexel or George Mason, the supposed two best teams in the conference, and the 15th game involves Delaware, the probable number three in the conference. After Drexel nearly made it to the NCAA Tournament last season and with their potential for Big Dancing this March, NBCSN is clearly trying to showcase more Mid-Major teams who could become conversation pieces come bracket time.

One thing to keep in mind: NBCSN won the rights away from ESPN this year, which dropped Drexel and the rest of the CAA from the annual Bracket Busters competition. It will be interesting to see if that comes into play on Selection Sunday when the top teams are missing that last chance for a win to improve their chances.

Below is the entire NBCSN CAA Broadcast Schedule from their release:

CAA MEN'S BASKETBALL ON NBC SPORTS NETWORK SCHEDULE (all times ET)

Date Game Time

Sat., Dec. 8 Northern Iowa at George Mason 6:00 p.m.

Sat., Dec. 22 Davidson at Drexel 8:00 p.m.

Thurs., Jan. 3 Northeastern at George Mason 7:00 p.m.

Thurs., Jan. 10 Old Dominion at George Mason 7:00 p.m.

Sat., Jan. 12 Drexel at James Madison 4:00 p.m.

Sat. Jan. 19 Hofstra at George Mason 5:00 p.m.

Mon., Jan. 28 Delaware at Drexel 7:00 p.m.

Thurs., Jan. 31 Drexel at George Mason 7:00 p.m.

Mon., Feb. 4 George Mason at Old Dominion 7:00 p.m.

Thurs., Feb. 7 Old Dominion at Drexel 7:00 p.m.

Mon., Feb. 11 Old Dominion at Delaware 7:00 p.m.

Mon., Feb. 18 Hofstra at Drexel 7:00 p.m.

Thurs., Feb. 21 Drexel at Delaware 7:00 p.m.

Thurs., Feb. 28 Drexel at Old Dominion 7:00 p.m.

Sat., March 2 George Mason at Delaware 7:00 p.m.