clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

WAC Has an Unintentionally Funny Definition of 'Several'

The WAC added Chicago State on Wednesday, the latest move of "several" according to their history page.

A handy graphical guide to the small changes that have happened to the WAC in its history.
A handy graphical guide to the small changes that have happened to the WAC in its history.
Nicolas Lewis

The Western Athletic Conference added Chicago State today, which was just the latest in the conference's revolving door of teams. The conference's history page outlines all of the changes to the membership over the life of the conference.

But it includes one unintentionally funny paragraph:

"Since 1962, several changes have occurred. UTEP and Colorado State became members in September 1967, while Arizona and Arizona State withdrew on June 30, 1978. The WAC then added San Diego State (1978), Hawai'i (1979) and Air Force (1980). Before 1990, the WAC sponsored championships only in men's sports. However, a merger with the High Country Athletic Conference formed a single conference under one administrative structure, and the 1990-91 athletic year was the first in which both men and women competed under the WAC name. Fresno State was added in 1992, and then in 1996, the women's programs from Air Force and Hawai'i along with six new schools (UNLV, Rice, San Jose State, SMU, TCU and Tulsa) came into the WAC. Air Force, Brigham Young, Colorado State, UNLV, New Mexico, San Diego State, Utah and Wyoming withdrew on June 30, 1999. Nevada (2000), Boise State (2001) and Louisiana Tech (2001) were added while TCU withdrew following the 2000-01 season. In 2005, Idaho, New Mexico State and Utah State joined the WAC after Rice, SMU, UTEP and Tulsa withdrew. Boise State withdrew prior to the 2011-12 season. The current membership began on July 1, 2012 when the WAC added Denver, Seattle, UT-Arlington, UTSA and Texas State to replace withdrawing members, Fresno State, Hawai'i and Nevada. New members, CSU Bakersfield, Grand Canyon and Utah Valley, will join the conference on July 1, 2013."

Yeah, "several".

Imagine if the Big East tried to do this starting in 2000.