clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2013 Ohio Valley Conference Postseason Awards Announced; Clark, Canaan Tie for Player Honors

For just the fourth time in history, two players have tied for the Player of the Year award in the Ohio Valley Conference: a fitting end to a tight regular season race.


Belmont's Ian Clark and Murray State's Isaiah Canaan were each one-man wrecking crews for their teams during the Ohio Valley regular season, averaging over 18 points each, and bombing it out from 3-point range.

It only seems fitting that the two tied for the Player of the Year honors, just the fourth time in history that two players have tied for the honor.

Each winner was joined on the first-team all-conference by one of their teammates. Kerron Johnson also represents the Bruins, and Ed Daniel and his hair (only one spot taken, not two) was also named from Murray State.

Eastern Kentucky's Mike DiNunno and Tennessee State's Patrick Miller complete the six-man first team.

Here is the complete list of postseason awards from the Ohio Valley Conference:

Players of the Year: Ian Clark, Belmont, and Isaiah Canaan, Murray State

Defensive Player of the Year: Ian Clark, Belmont

Freshman of the Year: Chris Horton, Austin Peay

Coach of the Year: Rick Byrd, Belmont

First Team All-Conference

Ian Clark, Belmont
Isaiah Canaan, Murray State
Mike DiNunno, Eastern Kentucky
Kerron Johnson, Belmont
Ed Daniel, Murray State
Patrick Miller, Tennessee State

Second Team All-Conference

Jud Dillard, Tennessee Tech
Robert Covington, Tennessee State
Kellen Thornton, Tennessee State
Tarvin Gaines, Jacksonville State
Tyler Stone, Southeast Missouri State

All-Newcomer Team

Glenn Cosey, Eastern Kentucky
Travis Betran, Austin Peay
Corey Walden, Eastern Kentucky
Jeremiah Samarrippas, Tennessee Tech
Sherman Blanford, Eastern Illinois
Chris Horton, Austin Peay