clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

CAA Awards: Benimon, Towson Run Rampant

After a completely unpredictable season, the CAA awards proved to be the complete opposite. As expected, Pat Skerry, Jerrelle Benimon, and Towson were awarded for their record-breaking turnaround. It's only a shame we won't see them in the conference tournament.

After last season's awful run, all Pat Skerry could ask for was a little help.

Jerrelle Benimon showed up right in time.

Just one season removed from a 1-31 campaign, Skerry, Benimon, and Towson were lauded repeatedly during Friday night's CAA awards ceremony for their NCAA-record-setting turnaround. Skerry was crowed Coach of the Year, while Benimon was named the Player of the Year.

The rest of the awards went as planned, including Georgia State star R.J. Hunter winning Rookie of the Year in the Panthers' final season in the Colonial.

The CAA Tournament starts tomorrow at 3:30 in Richmond, VA.

Below is a list of the winners from Friday night's ceremony.

All-Conference First Team

Jerrelle Benimon, Towson
RJ Hunter, Georgia State
Keith Rendleman, UNC-Wilmington
Devon Saddler, Delaware
Joel Smith, Northeastern

All-Conference Second Team

Jamelle Hagins, Delaware
Damion Lee, Drexel
Frantz Massenat, Drexel
Marcus Thornton, William & Mary
Sherrod Wright, George Mason

All-Conference Third Team

Quincy Ford, Northeastern
Rayshawn Goins, James Madison
Jonathan Lee, Northeastern
Devon Moore, James Madison
Tim Rusthoven, William & Mary
Jarvis Threatt, Delaware

All-Rookie Team

Jerome Hairston, Towson
R.J. Hunter, Georgia State
Andre Nation, James Madison
Keenan Palmore, Old Dominion
David Walker, Northeastern

All-Defensive Team

Jerrelle Benimon, Towson
Jamelle Hagins, Delaware
Stevie Mejia, Hofstra
Keith Rendleman, UNC-Wilmington
James Vincent, Georgia State

Player of the Year

Jerrelle Benimon

Freshman of the Year

R.J. Hunter, Georgia State

Defensive Player of the Year

Jamelle Hagins, Delaware

Coach of the Year

Pat Skerry, Towson