clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Mid-Major All-American Team

The Mid-Major Madness team put their heads together and voted on the five best mid-major players in the country for the 2012-13 season.


The Mid-Major Madness team got together to cast a vote on who the Mid-Major All-American Team should be. Here is how the staff's vote panned out:

Doug McDermott, Creighton: McDermott was the only unanimous member of the All-American team. The Creighton junior finished the year second in the country in scoring by averaging over 23 points per game and also averaged nearly 8 rebounds per game. The only question left now for McDermott is if he'll return for the Blue Jays first campaign in the Big East.

Nate Wolters, South Dakota State: Wolters was second leading vote-getter on the MMM All-American team and he is certainly the darling of the mid-major community. Wolters finished the year ranked fourth in the country in scoring averaging over 22 points per game. The senior Jackrabbit had a legendary night against IPFW in February dropping 53 points on the Mastodons.

Kelly Olynyk, Gonzaga: Olynyk was the poster child for the Zags this year and was probably the country's most improved player. The big Canadian finished the year averaging nearly 18 points per game and 7 rebounds. We aren't quite sure if we've seen the last of the junior, but many fans are hoping he returns to Mark Few's squad.

Mike Muscala, Bucknell: No player dominated their conference more than the way Muscala dominated the Patriot League. The big senior is set for a NBA career after averaging nearly 19 points and over 11 rebounds per game for the Bison this year. We'll certainly miss his bad haircut around the MMM community.

Lamont Jones, Iona: Tim Cluess asked Momo Jones to step up as a scorer and the Arizona transfer definitely answered the call. Jones was third in the country in scoring after averaging nearly 23 points per game for the Gaels. Jones also averaged nearly 37 minutes per game, putting the Gaels on his back all the way to the NCAA tournament.

Others Receiving Votes:
Matthew Dellavedova, Saint Mary's
O.D. Anosike, Siena
Miguel Paul, East Carolina
Jerrelle Benimon, Towson
Colt Ryan, Evansville
Ryan Broekhoff, Valparaiso
Duke Mondy, Oakland