clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2014-2015 Preseason College Basketball Missouri Valley Conference Poll and Teams

The Missouri Valley Conference has released the results of its preseason poll along with its preseason all-conference squad. It should be no surprise that there are a lot of Shockers represented.

Jasen Vinlove-USA TODAY Sports

The Missouri Valley Conference released the results of its preseason poll Tuesday morning as part of media day. As expected, Wichita State took the top spot, grabbing 45 of the 46 possible first place votes. Illinois State received the other top vote.

As a result, the Shockers had 459 points to lead the way, followed by Seth Tuttle and Northern Iowa with 411 points.

Here is the full preseason poll:

Place Team Points
1 Wichita State (45) 459
2 Northern Iowa 411
3 Missouri State 338
4 Evansville 300
5 Illinois State (1) 287
6 Indiana State 219
7 Southern Illinois 191
8 Bradley 140
9 Drake 92
10 Loyola 91

Wichita State also grabbed its share of the preseason all-conference squad. The Shockers landed three players on the team, the first time that has ever happened since the league began choosing a team in 1987-88.

Fred VanVleet, who took home the player of the year award last season, was the preseason player of the year selection.

Here is the full preseason squad:

Ron Baker, G, Jr., Wichita State
D.J. Balentine, G, Jr., Evansville
Tekele Cotton, G, Sr., Wichita State
Seth Tuttle, F, Sr., Northern Iowa
Fred VanVleet, G, Jr., Wichita State

Honorable mention:

Anthony Beane, G, Jr., Southern Illinois
Milton Doyle, G, So., Loyola
Marcus Marshall, G, Jr., Missouri State
Egidijus Mockevicius, C, Jr., Evansville