clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Naismith Trophy: Wichita State's Fred Van Vleet Named Semifinalist for Award

Wichita State point guard Fred Van Vleet has been named one of 10 semifinalists for the 2014 Naismith Trophy. The four finalists will be announced March 23.

Scott Sewell-USA TODAY Sports

Anyone watching Wichita State's run to the Final Four last season got a glimpse of how good Fred Van Vleet was going to be.

Those who are still watching the undefeated run by the Shockers are now seeing proof of how important the point guard is to the team's continued success.

That skill was rewarded Friday as Van Vleet was named one of 10 semifinalists for the 2014 Naismith Trophy.

It is a pretty impressive group of players that made the cut, a list that will be narrowed to just four on March 23 (thinking Van Vleet and the Shockers will have a few important games between now and then). Here are all 10 semifinalists as named by the Atlanta TipOff Club:

  • Tyler Ennis, Syracuse
  • Nick Johnson, Arizon
  • Sean Kilpatrick, Cincinnati
  • Doug McDermott, Creighton
  • Shabazz Napier, Connecticut
  • Jabari Parker, Duke
  • Julius Randle, Kentucky
  • Russ Smith, Louisville
  • Fred Van Vleet, Wichita State
  • Andrew Wiggins, Kansas
The winner will be announced on April 6, 2014.