clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Greg Marshall Named Coach of the Year

His team's season may be over, but Wichita State's Greg Marshall was just named National Coach of the Year. There's no doubt that he deserves it.

Give yourself a hand Coach Marshall, you deserve it.
Give yourself a hand Coach Marshall, you deserve it.

Here at Mid-Major Madness we've spent plenty of time talking about the successes of Wichita State Head Coach Greg Marshall. Even though his season ended against Kentucky, the U.S. Basketball Writers Association will honor Marshall's undefeated regular season and 35-1 overall record with the Henry Iba National Coach of the Year Award.

Greg Marshall is a deserving recipient, even with other outstanding finalists such as John Beilein, Tony Bennett, Billy Donovan, Steve Fisher, and Greg McDermott, among others.

It's a notable accomplishment for the two-time Missouri Valley Coach of the Year to now be named National Coach of the Year. Although he is the eighth Valley coach to be given the award, only Dick Versace of Bradley University was the coach of a team that is still in the Valley.

Marshall's overall record stands at 368-154 (.704 winning percentage) in 16 seasons as a college head coach. Before taking the reigns at Wichita State, Marshall was 194-83 in nine seasons at Winthrop, where he made seven NCAA Tournament appearances and won six Big South Conference titles.

Henry Iba himself was the coach of the MVC's Oklahoma A&M College, which left the MVC in 1956 before being renamed Oklahoma State University in 1957.