clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2014 SWAC Tournament Schedule

The SWAC was won by Southern University during the regular season, but they can't go to the NCAA Tournament. So who will emerge among the six teams who can go dancing?

Kevin Jairaj-USA TODAY Sports

The 2014 SWAC Tournament will take place from March 11-15 at the Toyota Center in Houston, Texas. The Championship game will be held on Saturday, March 15, at 3:30 p.m. Central, and televised on ESPN2.

Note that Southern, Mississippi Valley State, Arkansas-Pine Bluff and Grambling cannot represent the conference in the NCAA Tournament. If any of those teams win the tournament, the automatic bid will go to the highest ranked, eligible team that advanced furthest.

Official Website:

Ticket info: Houston Toyota Center

Opening Round, March 11:

No. 7 Jackson State vs. No. 10 Grambling, 12:30 p.m.

No. 8 Prairie View vs. No. 9 Mississippi Valley State, 8 p.m.

Quarterfinals, March 12:

No. 2 Texas Southern vs. Jackson State / Grambling winner, 12:30 p.m.

No. 1 Southern vs. Prairie View / Mississippi Valley State winner, 8 p.m.

Quarterfinals, March 13:

No. 3 Alabama State vs. No. 6 Alcorn State, 12:30 p.m.

No. 4 Arkansas-Pine Bluff vs. No. 5 Alabama A&M, 8 p.m.

Semifinals, March 14:

Texas Southern / Jackson State / Grambling winner vs. Alabama State / Alcorn State winner, 2:30 p.m.

Southern / Prairie View / Mississippi Valley State winner vs. Arkansas-Pine Bluff / Alabama A&M winner, 8:30 p.m.

Championship, March 15, 3:30 p.m., ESPN2

All times Central.