clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Eight Teams Face APR Postseason Ban for 2014-15 College Basketball Season

The release of the APR scores for the 2012-13 season has left eight schools facing a postseason ban for the coming year.

There is an obstacle in the way of Appalachian State competing in the postseason next year
There is an obstacle in the way of Appalachian State competing in the postseason next year
Dale Zanine-USA TODAY Sports

The 2012-13 Academic Progress Rate scores were announced by the NCAA today for all its member institutions. This year marked the new standard for qualifying for postseason competition and eight schools found themselves below the more stringent 930 multiyear mark.

Alabama State, Appalachian State, Florida A&M, Houston Baptist, Lamar, San Jose State, Central Arkansas and Milwaukee, will all sit out the 2014-15 postseason by failing to meet the four-year average of 930. Appalachian State has filed a waiver request that is still pending according to the NCAA website.

Teams who fall below the 930 mark can still qualify for the postseason provided that they meet other criteria such as:

  • Averaging over a 940 APR during the previous two seasons. This is the last year that teams can still qualify in this way if they don't meet the four-year average.
  • The school is a low-resource institution as identified by the NCAA
  • The school was facing a second season in a row of not qualifying, yet had averaged 950 or higher in the past two years.
One example of this is Coastal Carolina, whose four-year average is 910. Over the past two seasons though, the Chanticleers, the Big South's representative in the NCAA Tournament this past year, scored a 1000 (2011-12) and 939 (2012-13) meeting the first exemption. Coastal Carolina will need to score better than 927 in the next report in order to not fall below 930 next season.

Other schools that did not meet the threshold but avoided a ban are Alcorn State, Bakersfield, Binghamton (practice reduction), Fresno State, Cal State Fullerton (practice reduction), Coppin State, Fairleigh Dickinson (practice reduction), Florida International (practice reduction and other restrictions), Grambling, Idaho State, Mississippi Valley State, Norfolk State, North Carolina A&T, Southern Illinois, Tennessee State, Texas A&M, Texas A&M-Corpus Christi, Towson, Arkansas-Pine Bluff, Cal Riverside, UIC, Louisiana-Monroe, Maryland-Eastern Shore, New Orleans (practice reduction and other restrictions), Charlotte (practice reductions), UNC-Wilmington, Tennessee-Martin (practice reductions), and Utah Valley.