clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

UTEP, Boise State, and others headed for 2017 Puerto Rico Tip-Off

The eight participants for the event were announced on Tuesday

NCAA Basketball: Texas-El Paso at Washington State James Snook-USA TODAY Sports

UTEP, Illinois State, Boise State and Western Michigan will all participate in the 2017 Puerto Rico Tip-Off, according to Jon Rothstein of FanRag Sports.

The four mid-majors will be joined by Iowa State, Florida State, Tulsa, and South Carolina.

The 2017 field is particularly intriguing as it features three mid-major teams that are rebuilding this year. Illinois State and UTEP both struggled last season but seem primed for success in 2016-17. A bounce-back year from them and Western Michigan, which relied on underclassmen last year, could give next year's Tip-Off some added drama as NCAA Tournament dreams start to become realistic.

Since its creation in 2007, the Puerto Rico Tip Off has served as a proving ground for mid-majors looking to bolster their NCAA Tournament resumes against bigger name schools, routinely blending all tiers of the college basketball world. In 2013, Charlotte actually won the event, knocking off Michigan in championship game and beating Kansas State along the way.

First round matchups for the 2016 Puerto Rico Tip Off include Davidson against Clemson, Xavier versus Missouri, Northern Iowa against Arizona State and Tulane taking on Oklahoma.