clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Northeast Conference Tournament bracket 2017: Mount St. Mary’s wins regular season on final day

LIU Brooklyn earned the 2 seed

NCAA Basketball: Mount St. Mary's at Michigan Rick Osentoski-USA TODAY Sports

The eight-team Northeast Conference Tournament field is set. By beating St. Francis Brooklyn on Saturday, 77-62, Mount St. Mary’s took home the conference regular season championship and earned the No. 1 seed.

LIU Brooklyn, which beat Wagner 88-84 in overtime, will be the 2 seed. The Mountaineers and Blackbirds will host first-round games along with 3 seed Wagner and 4 seed St. Francis PA in the quarterfinals Wednesday night.

Defending champion Fairleigh Dickinson stumbled to a 9-9 finish and joined Bryant and Robert Morris in a three-way tie in the middle of the standings. By league tiebreaker rules, the Bulldogs will be the 5 seed, the Knights the 6, and the Colonials the 7.

After the quarterfinal games, the tournament will be re-seeded so that the highest remaining seed plays the lowest remaining seed in the semifinals. All tournament games will be played on the higher seed’s home floor.

Central Connecticut and St. Francis Brooklyn, who finished ninth and 10th respectively, did not qualify.

The full bracket can be found below:

Graphic from @NECSports