clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Every eligibility waiver the NCAA has granted to mid-major transfers (so far)

More than 30 transfers will suit up for their new teams right away this year.

NCAA Basketball: Baylor at Arizona Casey Sapio-USA TODAY Sports

Earlier today, the Texas Southern Tigers received a golden ticket, courtesy of the NCAA.

The NCAA granted Texas A&M transfer John Walker III immediate eligibility to play for the Tigers this season. As a junior, Walker would’ve had to sit out this season per the NCAA’s transfer rules; now, the third-string power forward who averaged 3.3 points in 13.2 minutes per game last season can plug right in to one of the SWAC’s marquee programs.

The Tigers aren’t the only teams to benefit from these waivers. Right now, more than 30 mid-major transfers have been granted eligibility to play for 30 different teams this year. Most of these players were either used sparingly or didn’t see the floor at all at their previous schools, but a few role players and starters are in the mix.

Here is a semi-complete list of players who earned eligibility waivers. Links to each players’ Sports Reference pages are included as well. Double-digit scorers are in bold.

Seniors (non-grad transfers)

Markus Golder, Portland State (via Valparaiso)
Lamar Hamrick, Portland State (via Detroit)
Jaylen Poyser, McNeese State (via St. Bonaventure)
Mohamed Thiam, Iona (via New Mexico State)


Alex Barcello, BYU (via Arizona)
Chris Barnes, Eastern Michigan (via Tulsa)
Troy Baxter, Morgan State (via Florida Gulf Coast)
Tervell Beck, Kent State (via UNLV)
Khameron Davis, Weber State (via Pittsburgh)
Andrew Gordon, Louisiana Tech (via West Virginia)
Elias Harden, Jacksonville State (via Xavier)
Danya Kingsby, Bradley (via LSU)
John Knight III, Southern Utah (via Utah State)
Zeke Moore, SIU-Edwardsville (via Tulsa)
Donnie Tillman, UNLV (via Utah)
John Walker, Texas Southern (via Texas A&M)
Isaiah Washington, Iona (via Minnesota)
Shawn Williams, New Mexico State (via East Carolina)


Darius Beane, Northern Illinois (via Southern Illinois)
Shandon Brown, Niagara (via George Washington)
Michael Carter III, Long Beach State (via South Dakota State)
Karrington Davis, Southern Illinois (via Nebraska)
Duncan DeMuth, Vermont (via Oklahoma State)
Trey Doomes, Chattanooga (via West Virginia)
Myles Douglas, Saint Joseph’s (via UCF)
Amir Harris, George Washington (via Nebraska)
Brady Heiman, South Dakota (via Nebraska)
Chase Johnson, Dayton (via Florida)
Joshua Mballa, Buffalo (via Texas Tech)
Angus McWilliam, UC Riverside (via TCU)
L.J. Owens, UMBC (via William & Mary)
Jared Rodriguez, San Diego (via Idaho)
Omar Silverio, Hofstra (via Rhode Island)
Tyler Stewart, Saint Francis (PA) (via Binghamton)
Trey Woodbury, Utah Valley (via UNLV)


D.J. Burns, Winthrop (via Tennessee)
LaQuill Hardnett, Buffalo (via Cincinnati)
Vince Lee, Cal State Fullerton (via Nevada)
Jordan Phillips, UT Arlington (via Arkansas)
Dylan Swingle, Bowling Green (via Duquesne)
Calvin Temple, Louisiana (via IUPUI)
David Wingett, South Dakota State (via Memphis)

If you have additional information or inside scoops about granted eligibility waivers, feel free holler at @mid_madness or @kylecajero on Twitter.