clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

College basketball coaching carousel: Keeping track of all of the coaching changes

Keep up with all of the changes around the country.

Grand Canyon v New Mexico Photo by Sam Wasson/Getty Images

Now that the college basketball season has come to an abrupt end, the offseason isn’t wasting any time ramping up. Watching the college basketball world come to a complete stop in a matter of days was jarring, but life goes on and there are important decisions to be made.

Athletic departments have already begun making coaching changes, so we’re putting together a tracker to keep up with the carousel as we progress through the offseason.

We’ll try to update as news comes in, but don’t hesitate to let us know if there are any omissions that might have slipped through the cracks. Some of the changes included are from decisions that were made during the regular season, such as Walter McCarty’s ouster from Evansville. In those cases, we’ll still include the interim coach as the new hire if they are the one to ultimately get the job full-time.

2020 coaching carousel tracker

Team Previous Coach Tenure New Hire Previous Role
Team Previous Coach Tenure New Hire Previous Role
Air Force Dave Pilipovich 2013-2020
Central Arkansas Russ Pennell 2015-2020 Anthony Boone UCA interim head coach
Evansville Walter McCarty 2019-2020 Todd Lickliter Retired (Evansville assistant in 2019)
Grand Canyon Dan Majerle 2014-2020 Bryce Drew Vanderbilt head coach (2019) / ESPN Analyst
Iona Tim Cluess 2011-2020 Rick Pitino Panathinaikos head coach (Greece)
IUPUI Byron Rimm 2020
James Madison Louis Rowe 2017-2020
Loyola Marymount Mike Dunlap 2015-2020
North Carolina A&T Jay Joyner 2017-2020
Samford Scott Padgett 2015-2020
Southeast Missouri State Rick Ray 2016-2020 Brad Korn Kansas State assistant
UAB Rob Ehsan 2017-2020 Andy Kennedy Ole Miss head coach
UIC Steve McClain 2016-2020 Luke Yaklich Michigan assistant
UNC Wilmington CB McGrath 2018-2020 Takayo Siddle NC State assistant
Western Illinois Billy Wright 2015-2020
Western Michigan Steve Hawkins 2004-2020
Wyoming Allen Edwards 2017-2020 Jeff Linder Northern Colorado head coach