clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2015-16 Conference Preview: Big South Experts Predictions

A panel of Big South experts weighs in on what to expect from the conference during the 2015-16 season.

Jeff Blake-USA TODAY Sports

We reached out our colleagues and friends in the Big South last week to get an early look at the conference and how everyone thinks the 2015-16 season will shake out. Last year was one of the craziest on record with a logjam of teams in the conference tournament seeding process. The challenging season resulted in Coastal Carolina winning back-to-back titles and Winthrop, Longwood, and Gardner-Webb left standing in the conference semifinals.

2015-16 Standings Predictions

Rank School Voting Points
1. Winthrop Eagles 81 (6)
2. Coastal Carolina Chanticleers 77 (3)
3. High Point Panthers 72
4. Longwood Lancers 62
5. UNC Asheville Bulldogs 55 (1)
6. Gardner-Webb Bulldogs 52
7. Charleston Southern Buccaneers 45
8. Presbyterian Blue Hose 41
9. Radford Highlanders 35
10. Campbell Fighting Camels 18
11. Liberty Flames 12

Preseason Player of the Year

John Brown, High Point

John Brown is back for his senior season after saying last year would be his last for the Panthers and a lack of serious NBA consideration. Brown will certainly put up the numbers again in the 2015-16 but Scott Cherry has done little to provide the players around him in the frontcourt to showcase his game. The Panthers lost a big time commit late in the period and it's yet to be seen if Miles Bowman can turn into a valuable post presence to help Brown carry the load down low or if freshman Ricky Madison might help.

Brown was almost a unanimous decision but Longwood's Shaquille Johnson garnered a vote, as well as Winthrop newcomer Zac Price.

Preseason First Team

G- Keon Johnson, Winthrop 
G- Elijah Wilson, Coastal Carolina
F- Shaq Johnson, Longwood
F- John Brown, High Point
F- Tyrell Nelson, Gardner-Webb

Others Receiving Votes: DeSean Murray (Presbyterian), Zac Price (Winthrop), Lotanna Nwogbo (Longwood), Badou Diagne (Coastal Carolina), Shivaughn Wiggins (Coastal Carolina), Ya Ya Anderson (Radford), Xavier Cooks (Winthrop)

A big thanks to all of our voters including those at Winthrop Fans, HPU Panthers Message Board, College Hoops Digest, LancersBlog, Camel Fans, and Liberty Flames Nation.