clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2014-2015 Missouri Valley Conference Awards: UNI's Seth Tuttle Top Player

The 2014-2015 Missouri Valley Conference awards were announced Tuesday. Northern Iowa's Seth Tuttle took the top spot with 80 percent of the first place votes.

Jeffrey Becker-USA TODAY Sports

The Missouri Valley Conference announced the majority of its award winners Tuesday with Northern Iowa forward Seth Tuttle taking home the Player of the Year award. Tuttle received 38 of the 47 first place votes, with Wichita State's Ron Baker and Fred Van Vleet splitting the remainder.

The league will announce its bench team Wednesday, and the coach of the year Thursday.

Here is the complete list of winners announced Tuesday:

Larry Bird Player of the Year: Seth Tuttle, Northern Iowa
Newcomer of the Year: DeVaughn Akoon-Purcell, Illinois State
Freshman of the Year: Brenton Scott, Indiana State
Defensive MVP: Tekele Cotton, Wichita State
Sixth-man of the Year: Wes Washpun, Northern Iowa


Ron Baker, Wichita State, Jr., G
D.J. Balentine, Evansville, Jr., G
Egidijus Mockevicius, Evansville, Jr., C
Seth Tuttle, Northern Iowa, Sr., F
Fred Van Vleet, Wichita State, Jr., G


Anthony Beane, Southern Illinois, Jr., G
Devonte Brown, Indiana State, Jr., G
Tekele Cotton, Wichita State, Sr., G
Daishon Knight, Illinois State, Sr., G
Reggie Lynch, Illinois State, So., C


Darius Carter, Wichita State, Sr., F
Deon Mitchell, Northern Iowa, Sr., G
Gary Ricks, Drake, Jr., G
Christian Thomas, Loyola, Sr., F
Wes Washpun, Northern Iowa, Jr., G


DeVaughn Akoon-Purcell, Illinois State, Jr., G
Montel James, Loyola, Jr., F
Paul Jesperson, Northern Iowa, Jr., G
Brenton Scott, Indiana State, Fr., G
Reed Timmer, Drake, Fr., G


Jordan Caroline, Southern Illinois, F
Josh Cunningham, Bradley, F
Shaquille Morris, Wichita State, F
Brenton Scott, Indiana State, G
Reed Timmer, Drake, G


Tekele Cotton, Wichita State, Sr., G
Paris Lee, Illinois State, So., G
Reggie Lynch, Illinois State, So., C
Egidijus Mockevicius, Evansville, Jr., C
Fred Van Vleet, Wichita State, Jr., G